Skip To Main Content
Exterior shot of Frederick E. Giesecke Engineering Research Building.

This integrative research facility for engineering focuses on three areas: nanofabrication, materials characterization and energy research. The facility includes nanofabrication laboratories, the Corrosion Science and Materials Reliability Laboratory, and research space for faculty, staff and students working for the Texas A&M Energy Institute.

At a Glance

  • Located at 1617 Research Parkway
  • 70,000 total square footage
  • 4,000 square feet of wet lab space
  • 1,500 square feet of dry lab space
  • 13,000 square feet of office space

Ground Floor

  • Materials Science--Materials Characterization Labs
  • Electrical Engineering--Nano Technology and Aggie Fab Labs

Second Floor

  • Materials Science and Engineering
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering

Third Floor

Honoring the Giesecke Legacy

Photo of Frederick Giesecke
Dr. Frederick E. Giesecke earned two of his five degrees at Texas A&M University in 1886 and 1890 and served as head of the Department of Mechanical Drawing. He established the first formal architectural program in the state at Texas A&M and led that department until 1912. He served as director of the Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station from 1928 to 1939, during which time he designed several iconic buildings on the university campus.