TEES Advisory Board holds fall meeting

November 30, 2015
| By: Aubrey Bloom

The Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station’s (TEES) External Advisory Board held its fall meeting Nov. 13 at the National Center for Therapeutics Manufacturing building in College Station, Texas.

Advisory board members shared updates from their subcommittees and also heard updates from TEES administrators about research and commercialization initiatives, corporate relations efforts, workforce development programs, seed grant funding, regional division partnerships, and national and global initiatives.

“Our advisory board members are very involved and provide us with insightful input on how we can better serve our partners and the State of Texas, through our research, technology transfer, workforce development, initiatives and opportunities,” said Dr. Dimitris Lagoudas, deputy director of TEES.

Dr. Daniel Ragsdale, director of the Texas A&M Cybersecurity Center, and Dr. Christodoulos A. Floudas, director of the Texas A&M Energy Institute, gave presentations on their respective centers and discussed current and future research and outreach initiatives.

Following the meeting, board members viewed a demonstration at the Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service’s Brayton Fire Field and also toured Disaster City. The next advisory board meeting will be held in May 2016.

Members of the board are Pascal Joly (Airbus); Warren “Pete” Miller (Former Undersecretary of Energy); Todd Grove (American Bureau of Shipping--ABS); Gerry Griffin (Golden Spike Company); Ernest Leyendecker (Anadarko Petroleum); Gregory Powers (Halliburton); John Pellegrino (Army Research Laboratory); Mark Potter (Hewlett Packard); Ram Shenoy (ConocoPhillips); Steve Altemus (Intuitive Machines); Michael Beck (Consolidated Nuclear Security); Larry Graviss (Eagle Engineering Group); Bob Chalker (NACE International); James Phillips (Nanomech Inc.); Dennis Koehl (South Texas Project Nuclear Operating Co.); Lauri Hansen (NASA/Johnson Space Center); Susan Crumrine (Southwest Research Institute); Jim O'Sullivan (Technip USA); Germán Curá (Tenaris); Peter Matic (Naval Research Laboratory); Andres Alcantar (Texas Workforce Commission); Keith Graf (Office of the Governor of Texas); Stephen McNair (Pioneer Natural Resources); Stein Rasmussen (SBM Offshore); Steve Rottler (Sandia National Laboratories); Brian Rogers (Schlumberger); Edward McGruder (Elanco); James Turner (Fluor Corporation); Zach Kokel (FMC Technologies); and Kevin Nowka (IBM); Rustom Mody (Baker Hughes); Chad Evans (Council on Competitiveness); Norm Byrne (Dow Chemical Company); Adam Berg (FMC Technologies); Bill Hanson (Great Lakes Dredge & Dock Company); Alan Gatherer (Huawei); Whitney Kilgore (iDesignEDU); Ron Bessire (Lockheed Martin); Rich Staats (Mitre Corporation); Jeff Nichols (Oak Ridge National Laboratory); Brian Lukoff (Perusall); Grant Swartzwelder (PetroGrowth Advisors); Jana Bell (RMG Networks); Joe Cunningham (Sante Ventures); Luis Cifuentes (Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi); Lance Kinney (Texas Board of Professional Engineers); Dave Rintoul (US Steel).


Have a question? Not finding what you're looking for? Let us get you in touch with the right person.

Fill out the form below or give us a call at (979) 458-1648 to reach us.