TEES External Advisory Board holds spring meeting

June 5, 2015
| By: Amy Halbert

The Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station’s (TEES) External Advisory Board held its spring meeting May 29 at the National Center for Therapeutics Manufacturing building in College Station, Texas.

The 37-member board, established in 2014, was given the charge by Dr. M. Katherine Banks, vice chancellor and dean of engineering and director of TEES, to advise the agency on its strategic direction; serve as a focus group for TEES program direction and opportunities; provide expertise in the current economic landscape to help TEES understand trends, drivers and priorities shaping customers' operations; and collaborate on shared business issues, strengthening the relationship between TEES and its customers. 

Advisory board members shared updates from their subcommittees and also heard updates from TEES administrators about research and commercialization initiatives, corporate relations efforts, workforce development programs, seed grant funding, regional division partnerships, and national and global initiatives.

Banks addressed the board members about TEES’ goals moving into its next century of service: connecting with the world; partnering with industry and establishing TEES as the quarterback of cutting-edge technology education.

“The input we receive from this board is invaluable,” said Dr. Dimitris Lagoudas, deputy director of TEES. “We want to build and nurture relationships with industry, research agencies and institutions of higher education. Having this advisory board helps us do that, while also gaining fresh perspectives from some of the top minds in industry and research.”

Advisory board tours researcher building

Photo (right): Dr. Rusty Harris (far left), associate professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, gave board members a tour of the labs within the Giesecke Building.

Following the meeting, board members toured the recently dedicated Frederick E. Giesecke Engineering Research Building. The next advisory board meeting will be held in October.

Members of the board are Alok Das (Air Force Research Laboratory); Pascal Joly (Airbus); Warren "Pete" Miller (Former Undersecretary of Energy); Todd Grove (American Bureau of Shipping); Gerry Griffin (Golden Spike Company); Ernest Leyendecker (Anadarko Petroleum); Gregory Powers (Halliburton); John Pellegrino (Army Research Laboratory); Mark Potter (Hewlett Packard); Mario Ruscev (Baker Hughes); Ram Shenoy (ConocoPhillips); Steve Altemus (Intuitive Machines); Michael Beck (Lockheed Martin); Larry Graviss (Eagle Engineering Group); Jay Schnitzer (Mitre Corporation); Bob Chalker (NACE International); James Phillips (Nanomech Inc.); Dennis Koehl (South Texas Project Nuclear Operating Co.); Lauri Hansen (NASA/Johnson Space Center); Susan Crumrine (Southwest Research Institute); Jim O'Sullivan (Technip USA); Germán Curá (Tenaris); Peter Matic (Naval Research Laboratory); Andres Alcantar (Texas Workforce Commission); Keith Graf (Office of the Governor of Texas); Jeff Trent (Translational Genomic Research Institute); Cindy Taylor (Oil States International); Stephen McNair (Pioneer Natural Resources); Brian Stoner (RTI International); Stein Rasmussen (SBM Offshore); Stephen Rottler (Sandia National Laboratories); Brian Rogers (Schlumberger); Gail Hahn (Boeing); Edward McGruder (Elanco); James Turner (Fluor Corporation); Zach Kokel (FMC Technologies); and Kevin Nowka (IBM).

Top photo: TEES researchers demonstrated some of their current research projects at the meeting. 

Have a question? Not finding what you're looking for? Let us get you in touch with the right person.

Fill out the form below or give us a call at (979) 458-1648 to reach us.