Three faculty members in the College of Engineering receive Aggies Celebrate Teaching awards

May 21, 2018
| By: Deana Totzke

During the second annual "Aggies Celebrate Teaching! – Recognizing Transformational Learning" reception, three faculty members from the Texas A&M University College of Engineering were honored by the Center for Teaching Excellence at Texas A&M. This year’s award reception was part of the inaugural Texas A&M University Transformational Teaching and Learning Conference.

Dr. Yucel Akkutlu, associate professor in the Department of Petroleum Engineering, was nominated by Mohamed Eid, a senior in the department. Dr. Tracy Hammond, professor in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering, was nominated by Vijay Rajanna, a graduate student in the department; and Dr. Timothy Jacobs, professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering and director of Interdisciplinary Engineering for Undergraduate and Graduate Programs, was nominated by Clayton Mulvihill, a graduate student in engineering.

Students across all disciplines wrote essays giving evidence of and reflecting upon the instructor’s impact on their learning and lives. This annual teaching award celebration provides a unique view of teaching excellence. Students share their personal experiences of the relationship between teacher and learner, growth and change, difficulties and triumph – experiences that shifted their thinking and perspectives in a personal way. The College of Engineering instructors were among six honored by students as inspirational and transformational mentors.

Each faculty-student pair shared unique stories related to their personal experiences, making it clear that there are many ways to teach, as well as many individuals at Texas A&M that promote transformational learning and foster student growth and development.

Image caption: Front row (left to right): Samantha Mosqueda, Vicki Mokuria, Clayton Mulvihill, Carolyn Cotton, Dr. Tracy Hammond, Vijay Rajanna. Back row (left to right): Dr. Victor Arizpe, Jonathan Barnes, Dr. Timothy Jacobs, Carlos Cotton, Sarah Brown (representing Lexi Mitchell), Sherman Finch, Dr. Yucel Akkutlu, Mohamed Eid.

Have a question? Not finding what you're looking for? Let us get you in touch with the right person.

Fill out the form below or give us a call at (979) 458-1648 to reach us.