Texas A&M signs collaboration agreement with Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur

July 23, 2015
| By: Aubrey Bloom

Texas A&M University’s Dwight Look College of Engineering and the Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur (IITKGP) have signed a formal affiliation agreement to promote institutional collaboration in education and research. The primary objective of the agreement is to promote interaction and collaboration between faculty, staff and students of the two institutions, carry out academic and research programs, and provide joint supervision of doctoral and master’s students.

“Collaboration is the key to innovation in engineering,” said Dr. N.K. Anand, executive associate dean of engineering, Regents Professor and associate agency director for the Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station (TEES). “Working with an exceptional international partner like the Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur enables us to increase research and learning opportunities for our faculty and students, while gaining valuable input from international colleagues.”

Dr. Debjyoti Banerjee, associate professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, will serve as coordinator for Texas A&M and Professor Souvik Bhattacharyya, deputy director and professor of mechanical engineering at IIT Kharagpur, will serve as coordinator for IITKGP.

Ares of cooperation identified under this agreement include:

  • Exploring opportunities for interaction among members of faculty as well as creating visiting faculty positions;  
  • Hosting short-term visiting students at the respective institutions;
  • Collaborating on joint research projects (including researchers from the Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station); and
  • Joint academic activities and events such as short courses, seminars, workshops or conferences based on mutual interests and available expertise at both institutions.  

IITKGP is a public engineering institution located in Kharagpur, India. The Institute was established in 1951, and is recognized as an Institute of National Importance by the Indian government. Nearly 9,000 undergraduate and graduate students are enrolled at the Institute.

Front, from left: Professor Siddhartha Mukhopadhyay, dean, AA&IR and professor, IITKGP; Anand; and Bhattacharyya. Back row, from left: Dr. Narasimha Reddy, J.W. Runyon, Jr. ’35 Professor I in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and assistant agency director for national and global initiatives for TEES; Banerjee; and Dr. Sam Mannan, Regents Professor in the Department of Chemical Engineering and director of the Mary Kay O’Connor Process Safety Center.

Have a question? Not finding what you're looking for? Let us get you in touch with the right person.

Fill out the form below or give us a call at (979) 458-1648 to reach us.