TEES Smart Grid Center has inaugural advisory board meeting

December 20, 2013
| By: Aubrey Bloom

The Smart Grid Center of the Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station (TEES) held the inaugural meeting of its advisory board Dec. 19 at the Memorial Student Center at Texas A&M University.

In 2012, TEES established the Smart Grid Center to promote creation of interdisciplinary research teams for modernization of the electrical grid. The center director is Dr. Mladen Kezunovic, the Eugene E. Webb Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Texas A&M.

The Smart Grid Center advisory board includes national leaders working in the smart grid area of industry, education and standardization, including

  • Dr. George Arnold, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST);
  • Dr. Miroslav Begovic, Georgia Tech and president-elect of the IEEE Power and Engineering Society;
  • Jorge A. Bermudez, president and CEO of the Byebrook Group and Texas A&M former student;
  • John D. McDonald, GE Energy Management, Digital Energy;
  • Michael G. O'Quinn, vice president for government relations at Texas A&M;
  • Dr. J. Martin Scholtz, executive associate vice president for research and professor of molecular and cellular medicine, biochemistry and biophysics at Texas A&M;
  • Dr. Le Tang, vice president and head of the U.S. Corporate Research Center, ABB Inc.; and
  • Pat Wood III, principal of Wood3 Resources.

The board reviewed the achievements of the first year since the Smart Grid Center was established and discussed strategic future plans. More about the Smart Grid Center can be found at http://smartgridcenter.tamu.edu/sgc/web/.

Have a question? Not finding what you're looking for? Let us get you in touch with the right person.

Fill out the form below or give us a call at (979) 458-1648 to reach us.