Lagoudas named inaugural Slattery Chair holder

September 17, 2004
| By: Aubrey Bloom

COLLEGE STATION, Texas -- Dr. Dimitris C. Lagoudas, professor in the Department of Aerospace Engineering, has been named the inaugural holder of the endowed John and Bea Slattery Chair in Aerospace Engineering at Texas A&M University. A Texas A&M faculty member since 1992, Lagoudas also directs the Texas Institute for Intelligent Bio-Nano Materials and Structures for Aerospace Vehicles (TiiMS) in the Texas Engineering Experiment Station. He served as a Texas A&M associate vice president for research from 2001 to 2004 and Chaired the Materials Science and Engineering Program from 2001 to 2003. He was previously with the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, where he was an associate professor of civil engineering. Lagoudas's research focuses on micromechanics of composite materials, shape memory alloys, nanocomposites, and multifunctional materials and structures. Lagoudas was previously the Ford Motor Co. Design Professor II. He has also received the Look College's Ruth and Bill Neely '52 Dow Chemical Faculty Fellow award, the Charles Crawford Service Award and the Lockheed Excellence in Engineering Teaching Award. He is a TEES Senior Research Fellow and a University Faculty Fellow. He is an Associate Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics and a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. Lagoudas conducted postdoctoral studies at Cornell University and the Max-Planck Institute in Germany. He received a doctoral degree from Lehigh University in applied mathematics and a diploma in mechanical engineering from Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece.

Have a question? Not finding what you're looking for? Let us get you in touch with the right person.

Fill out the form below or give us a call at (979) 458-1648 to reach us.