In accordance with Texas A&M University System regulation employees are granted various types of time off. Leave requests, approvals and balances are maintained in Workday through Single Sign On.
System Regulation 31.04.01 outlines the number of days each fiscal year is determined by the Texas Legislature, the schedule is set by the Texas A&M System Board of Regents. Budgeted employees who work at least 20 hours a week for at least 4.5 months are eligible for holidays. Positions for which student status is a requirement are not eligible for paid holiday leave. Wage employees are not eligible for paid holidays and are paid only if they work on those days.
As outlined in System Regulation 31.03.01 employees in vacation-accruing positions, including faculty on 12-month appointments, who work at least 50% time for 4 ½ months, earn vacation for each month they work for the state. Vacation is provided to give time off for use as desired. A specific amount of leave is earned each month based on total service with the state of Texas. Leave eligible employees begin earning vacation the day they start work. Leave may not be used until six months of continuous state service has been reached. Prior state service may be used to meet this requirement. Carry over balances to the next fiscal year are based on percent effort and state service. Refer to the regulation for information on maximum carry limits and monthly accrual.
System Regulation 31.03.02 provides information for leave eligible employees in relation to sick leave. Employees begin accruing at a rate of eight hours of paid sick leave each month. Employees who work at least halftime but less than full-time earn a proportional number of sick leave hours each month. Upon employment, eligible employees earn their first eight hours (proportional for part-time) of sick leave on their first day of work and may use that leave immediately for qualifying needs. Employees earn additional sick leave on the first day they are actively at work each month. An employee who is the parent of a child who is a student attending a grade from prekindergarten through 12th grade may use up to eight hours of sick leave each fiscal year to attend educational activities for the employee's children.
Have a Question? Let's get in touch. Click here to contact us.
With world-class facilities and resources, no project is too large or complicated.
Use the form below to get in touch and discover the ease of working with TEES.